News In Brief

US physicist, chemist awarded Nobel prizes

Americans swept the 1983 Nobel prizes in science. Subrahmanyan Chandrasekhar of the University of Chicago and William A. Fowler of the California Institute of Technology won the prize for physics for their discoveries about the birth, evolution, and death of stars. Henry Taube of Stanford University won the prize for chemistry for discovering how electrons transfer between molecules in chemical reactions, the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences announced Wednesday.

The Indian-born Mr. Chandra-sekhar and Canadian-born Mr. Taube are both naturalized US citizens.

of 5 stories this month > Get unlimited stories
You've read 5 of 5 free stories

Only $1 for your first month.

Get unlimited Monitor journalism.