[ No headline ]

Classical Rachmaninov, Sergei: Concerto No. 3 in D minor, Op. 30. Van Cliburn, piano. Symphony of the Air, Kiril Kondrashin, conductor. (RCA Red Seal .5 Series ARP1- 4688.) - Classic performances should never leave the catalog, and so it is with Van Cliburn's hair-raising account of the Third Piano Concerto taped live in Carnegie Hall in 1958, two days after his return from winning the Tchaikovsky competition in Moscow. It has been reworked for RCA's exemplary ''Red Seal .5 Series'' of remasterings of older stereo recordings. There is a bit more hiss than on past .5 releases, but the sound is open, clear in the upper reaches, and wonderfully natural. The intense performance, with the late Kiril Kondrashin conducting the Symphony of the Air, reminds one anew what an exceptional talent Cliburn's was in those early days of his meteoric career. This disc belongs on the shelves of any serious collector of great pianism, and of legendary performances of notable works.

of 5 stories this month > Get unlimited stories
You've read 5 of 5 free stories

Only $1 for your first month.

Get unlimited Monitor journalism.