A map of Nigeria in Friday's paper included Biafra. That region of the country, named during a secession movement in 1967-70, was divided into four separate states in 1976: Anambra, Imo, Cross River, and Rivers.

of stories this month > Get unlimited stories
You've read  of  free articles. Subscribe to continue.

Unlimited digital access $11/month.

Get unlimited Monitor journalism.