Monitor writers, columnists honored

Two members of The Christian Science Monitor staff are among the recipients of this year's awards from the New England Woman's Press Association. Staff writer Hilary DeVries won first-place laurels in the magazine journalism section for her articles, ''Marva Collins: Chicago's 'superteacher' under fire,'' and ''Robert Penn Warren: still a yearner, still a wonderer.''

Columnist Melvin Maddocks received an award of excellence in the best columnist category for ''Neither victims nor executioners,'' ''The case of the vanishing telegram,'' and ''In defense of procrastination.''

Other awards this year included the Edward J. Meeman Award to correspondent Jonathan Harsch for his four-part series, ''Save the soil.'' James Nelson Goodsell, Latin American correspondent, was honored by Suffolk University here for ''his vigorous work . . . and selfless service to the Hispanic community of Massachusetts.'' The Population Action Council bestowed on correspondent Richard L. Strout its ''best columnist'' award. The council also gave the Monitor a merit citation for distinguished journalistic efforts - citing David Winder's coverage of world population issues. The National Association of Secondary School Principals gave writer Jim Bencivenga the Benjamin Fine Journalism award for his analysis of the merit pay system in Glenn Cove, N.Y. Pullout sections on ''Education and Business,'' and ''Education and Foundations'' were also honored.

You've read  of  free articles. Subscribe to continue.