[ No headline ]

CLASSICAL Shostakovich, Dmitri: Piano Concerto No. 1. Prokofiev, Sergei: Classical Symphony. Carol Rosenberger, piano (Shostakovich). The Los Angeles Chamber Orchestra, Gerard Schwarz, conductor. (Delos Digital DMS-3008.) - These are refreshingly clean, precise performances. The Shostakovich sparkles brilliantly, despite a rather too-reverberant acoustic that blunts some of the edge. Carol Rosenberger handles the piano part with a virtuoso's aplomb. Gerard Schwarz lends his support deftly, but it is the Prokofiev wherein he particularly shines. What at first sounds like a terribly literal performance emerges as one of the more faithful accounts on records. Others have better communicated the sarcasm and the wit, but no other gives such a splendid sense of Prokofiev's orchestrational ear, and Schwarz by no means waxes humorless here. The orchestral playing is handsome throughout.

You've read  of  free articles. Subscribe to continue.
QR Code to
Read this article in
QR Code to Subscription page
Start your subscription today