Aaron and Robinson clinch fame

Hank Aaron, who surpassed Babe Ruth's most glamorous record to become baseball's all-time home run king, and Frank Robinson, the only player to win Most Valuable Player awards in both leagues and the major leagues' first black manager, were elected Wednesday to the Hall of Fame.

Aaron received 406 of a possible 415 votes by 10-year members of the Baseball Writers Association, or 97.8 percent -- a percentage surpassed only by Ty Cobb in 1936 when he got 222 of 226 for 98.2 percent. Robinson was elected with 370 votes, or 89.1 percent. The two former outfielders will be inducted into the Hall of Fame in Cooperstown, N.Y., Aug. 1.

Finishing third and failing to gain election by only seven votes was former San Francisco Giants' pitcher Juan Marichal.

He received 305 votes in his second year on the ballot.

No other candidate came close. Harmon Killebrew, with 246 votes, finished fourth, while Luis Aparicio made the most notable gain, receiving 174 votes, compared with 48 last year. Hoyt Wilhelm was fifth with 236 votes, followed by Don Drysdale (233), Gil Hodges (205), Aparicio, Jim Bunning (138), Red Schoendienst (135), Nellie Fox (127), and Richie Ashburn (126).

You've read  of  free articles. Subscribe to continue.
QR Code to Aaron and Robinson clinch fame
Read this article in
QR Code to Subscription page
Start your subscription today