Five California counties federal disaster areas

President Reagan declared five storm-ravaged counties of California federal disaster areas, making them eligible for assistance in recovering from torrential rains and devastating mud slides.

Storms have caused at least 28 deaths and $250 million in damage, state officials say.

of stories this month > Get unlimited stories
You've read  of 5 free articles. Subscribe to continue.

Only $1 for your first month.

Get unlimited Monitor journalism.