For the Record (1)

The Swedish Academy says the winner of the 1980 Nobel Prize for Literature will be announced Thursday. The Medicine Prize will be announced Oct. 10, the Physics and Chemistry Prizes on Oct. 14, and the Nobel Memorial Prize in Economics on Oct. 15. The prizes are awarded by various Nobel committees in Stocksholm. The Peace Prize, to be announced Oct. 13, is awarded in Oslo by a special committee of the Norwegian Parliament. This year's prizes are worth $ 215,000.

of 5 stories this month > Get unlimited stories
You've read 5 of 5 free stories

Only $1 for your first month.

Get unlimited Monitor journalism.