Who's going to 1980 Olympics

The International Olympic Committee announced Tuesday that 85 nations had accepted invitations to attend the Moscow games. Another 29 nations had refused outright to send athletes to the games, and 27 had not replied to the IOC invitation. (An IOC spokesman said this list may not be final.)

Countries attending: Afghanistan, Algeria, Andorra, Angola, Austria, Australia, Belgium, Benin, Botswana, Brazil, Britain, Bulgaria, Burma, Cameroon, Colombia, Congo, Costa rica, Cuba, Cyprus, Czechoslovakia, Denmark, Dominican Republic, East Germany, Ecuador, Ethiopia, Finland, France, Gabon, Greece, Guatemala, Guinea, Guyana, Hungary, Iceland, India, Iraq, Ireland, Italy, Jamaica, Jordan, Kuwait, Laos, Lebanon, Lesotho, Libya, Luxembourg, Madagascar, Mali, Malta, Mauritius, Mexico, Mongolia, Nepal, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria, the Netherlands, North Korea, Panama, Peru, Poland, Portugal, puerto Rico, Romania, San Marino, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Spain, Sri Lanka, Surinam, Sweden, Switzerland, Syria, Tanzania, Trinidad and Tobago, Uganda, Upper Volta, Soviet Union, Venezuela, Vietnam, Yugoslavia, Zambia, and Zimbabwe.

Countries not attending: Albania, Argentina, Bahrain, Bermuda, Canada, Cayman Islands, China, Gambia, Honduras, Hong kong, Indonesia, Israel, Japan, Kenya, Liechtenstein, Malawi, Malaysia, Mauritania, Pakistan, Paraguay, Philippines, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, Thailand, Tunisia, Turkey, United States, Uruguay, West Germany.

Countries not replying: Antigua, Netherlands Antilles, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Bolivia, Central African Republic, Chad, Chile, Egypt, Fiji, Ghana, Haiti, Ivory Coast, South Korea, Liberia, monaco, Morocco, Norway, Papua New Guinea, El Salvador, Somalia, Sudan, Swaziland, Togo, Virgin islands, and Zaire.

of stories this month > Get unlimited stories
You've read  of 5 free articles. Subscribe to continue.

Only $1 for your first month.

Get unlimited Monitor journalism.