New government by coup takes office in Surinam

A new "civilian government" was sworn in Sunday in Surinam, 19 days after an Army coup overthrew former Prime Minister Henck Arron, the President's office announced. The new prime minister, Dr. Henk R. China-Sen, took the oath from President Johan Ferrier along with 12 other ministers and four undersecretaries. The list was drawn up by veteran leftist politician Eddy Bruma and a fellow lawyer at the request of the National Military Council, set up by the junior officers who seized power on Feb. 25. The young officers have made clear the new government will be subordinate to the eight-member council.

You've read  of  free articles. Subscribe to continue.
QR Code to New government by coup takes office in Surinam
Read this article in
QR Code to Subscription page
Start your subscription today