Peyton Manning: Where does he rank among the best NFL quarterbacks?

Al Davis, the late Oakland Raiders owner, said it best: "Just win, baby." It might even be the unofficial motto of the National Football League – and Peyton Manning.

Now that the Indianapolis Colts have cut ties with former NFL MVP quarterback Peyton Manning, most sports pundits say that what he wants most in his post-Colts career is another Super Bowl ring. Check out where Manning stands in relation to other great signal callers. Looking solely at the total number of regular season wins, here are the NFL's top five winningest quarterbacks.

5.Tie: Fran Tarkenton & Tom Brady

In a tie for 5th place with 124 victories, you have two totally different quarterbacks. Fran Tarkenton had to scramble for his life early in his career with the expansion Minnesota Vikings. That was followed by a trade to the New York Giants, then Tarkenton was sent back to Minnesota. During his 17-year career, the Hall of Famer led the Vikings to two Super Bowl appearances, resulting in losses to the Oakland Raiders and Pittsburgh Steelers.

Tom Brady was a late-round draft pick by the Patriots and didn't see real game action until quaterback Drew Bledsoe was injured during a game in the 2001 season. Five Super Bowl appearances and three NFL championships later, many football observers and pundits already have Brady punching his ticket to the Pro Football Hall of Fame five years after his retirement. But no one is talking about retirement yet. Brady and Peyton Manning are the only two quarterbacks on this Top 5 list who are still playing.

4.Peyton Manning

With 141 regular season victories, Peyton Manning is fourth all-time on our list. Beginning in 1998, Manning has thrown for 54,828 yards and 399 touchdowns in his career. He led the Indianapolis Colts to Super Bowl appearances after the 2006 and 2009 NFL seasons, with a victory over the Chicago Bears in Super Bowl XLI. Manning has four NFL MVPs, and six AFC Player of the Year awards. Like Tom Brady, most expect Manning to reach the Hall of Fame in Canton, Ohio, after retirement.

3.Dan Marino

Dan Marino chalked up 147 victories. Before Brett Favre and Drew Brees overtook him in the NFL record books, Dan Marino of the Miami Dolphins set the standard for 'gunslinging' quarterback play in the mid-1980s and 1990s. Another Hall of Famer, Marino threw for more than 61,000 yards and 420 touchdowns in a 17-year career with the Dolphins. He helped the Dolphins reach Super Bowl XIX in 1985 by throwing for a then-record 5,084 yards during the 1984 season, but Marino never won a Super Bowl.

2.John Elway

With 148 victories, John Elway began his NFL career by forcing a trade from the Baltimore Colts to the Denver Broncos before the 1983 season began. The Hall of Famer then went on to throw for over 51,000 yards  and 300 touchdowns in a 16-year career. Elway led Denver to five Super Bowl appearances, resulting in a pair of NFL championships, the last coming in Super Bowl XXXIII. He was named MVP once, and took Denver to five AFC championships.

1.Brett Favre

With 186 regular season victories, Brett Favre was originally signed by the Atlanta Falcons and spent one season down south. In 1993, he was traded to Green Bay and led the Packers to consecutive Super Bowls in 1997 and 1998. Favre then worked out a trade to the New York Jets and later signed with the Minnesota Vikings.  Favre played 19 years in the NFL - longer than anyone else on this list. He is the only quarterback in NFL history to throw for more than 70,000 yards and has more than 500 touchdowns. He officially retired in January 2011.