Content Map > December 1982 > December 3

Content Map

Please see our Site Map for a guide to site content.

Monitor Archive for December 3, 1982

Gift ideas -- art, literature, books for children; Proust becomes portable; Remembrance of Things Past, 3 vols., by Marcel Proust. Translated by C.K...
Gift ideas -- art, literature, books for children; Sargent gloriously displayed; Sargent, by Carter Ratcliff. New York: Abbeville Press. 254 pp. $85.
Gift ideas -- arts, literature, books for children; Wallpapers -- a design history; Wallpapers: An Internatinal History and Illustrated Survey, by C...
Marlin Perkins, Abe Lincoln, and more. . .; Smile-a-day calander Peter's Almanac, by Laurence J. Peter. New York: William Morrow & Co. (Pages not nu...
Marlin Perkins, Abe Lincoln, and more...; Lincoln's disarming humor; Abe Lincoln Laughing, edited by P.M. Zall. Berkeley: University of California P...
Reagan trip to Brazil: relations warm up after chilly Carter era
A new image of Hemingway; Ernest Hemingway: Selected Letters 1917-1961, edited by Carlos Baker. New York: Charles Scribner's Sons. 948 pp. $12.95.
BEST BOOKS OF 1982 -- A CHECKLIST
Looking for a Christmas tree? Try 'bumping' it a few times

Administration outspoken against Israeli aid increase


What Ike left out and Lyndon put in
Gift ideas -- arts, literature, books for children; Grimm for a new generation; Favorite Tales From Grimm, retold by Nancy Garden, illustrated by Me...
Uruguay: voters cast ballots for 'end to military dictatorship'
Series business
Will the West save jobs from the jaws of protectionism?

Midnight

Veteran stars relish opportunity to compete on their own tennis tour
Provocative call for global unity, peace; Earth at Omega, by Donald Keys. Boston: The Brandon Press (P.O. Box 843, 02147). 117 pp. $13.95 postpaid.
Graffiti -- paint over or use strong cleaners
House vote seeks damper on FTC regulatory powers
2010 -- the odyssey continues; 2010: Odyssey Two, by Arthur C. Clarke. New York: Ballantine Books. 291 pp. $ 14.95.
This town teaches 3 R's only four days a week
Gift ideas -- art, literature, books for children; Andersen -- beautifully retold; The Snow Queen, by Hans Christian Andersen, retold by Amy Ehrlich...
Gift ideas -- art, literature, books for children; Heirloom 'Alice' for children; Alice in Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass, by Lewis Carrol...
Gift ideas -- arts, literature, books for children; Blake -- prophet or mystic?; William Blake, His Art and Times, by David Bindman. New York: Thame...
Also of note in the USSR
Gift ideas --art, literature, books for children; New knights of round table; Le Morte D'Arthur, by Sir Thomas Malory, edited by Robert Lumiansky. N...
Gift ideas -- art, literature, books for children; Dubuffet, stylistic innovator; Dubuffet, by Andreas Franzke. Translated by Erich Wolf. New York:...
Moscow gets long-awaited chance to strengthen ties with Arabs
Fraud and public works: challenge for 'jobs' bill
Revived FHA plans to help needy find home financing
Gift ideas -- arts, literature, books for children; Decorative arts since 1620s; American Decorative Arts: 360 Years of Creative Design, by Robert B...
Marlin Perkins, Abe Lincoln, and more. . .; Perkins' life with animals My Wild Kingdom, by Marlin Perkins. New York: E.P. Dutton. 264 pp. $15.95.
Urgency on immigration
Some basic steps in preparingyard plants to survive the winter
Exploring Paris with Hemingway; Hemingway's Paris, by Robert E. Gajdusek. New York: Charles Scribner's Sons. 182 pp. $12.95.
Deborah Kerr talks about her role in an Agatha Christie whodunit
Syria, wanting larger role in peace talks, may play spoiler
Gift ideas -- art, literature, books for children; Impressionist water colors, drawings; Watercolors and Drawings of the French Impressionists, by H...
...Friendship
Gift ideas -- arts, literature, books for children: From journals of early explorers; To The Ends of the Earth, by John Perkins. Photographs from th...
New evidence backs Swiss cheese theory of universe
Gift ideas -- art, literature, books for children; Motherwell from '40s to '80s; Robert Motherwell, text by H. H. Arnason, introduction by Dore Asht...
Gift ideas -- art, literature, books for children; A moving Cbristmas story; The Gift of the Magi, by O. Henry, illustrated by Lisbeth Zwerger. Bost...
Gift ideas -- arts, literature, books for children; Contemporary 'Alice' for adults; Alice's Adventures in Wonderland, by Lewis Carroll. The Pennyro...
Abernathy praises Reagan, GOP
Gift ideas -- arts, literature, books for children; How East and West fused in art; Along the Ancient Silk Routes: Central Asian Art from the West B...

Gift ideas -- art, literature, books for children; Skipping on the yellow bricks; The Wizard of Oz, by L. Frank Baum, illustrated by Michael Hague....

Americans keep the home fires burning -- and use less fuel to do it
Gift ideas -- arts, literature, books for children; Folk tradition as 'high' art; Black Folk Art in America 1930-1980, by Jane Livingston and John B...
Gift ideas -- arts, literature, books for children; Vanished civilization; Between Continents/ Between Seas: Precolumbian Art of Costa Rica, by Suza...
A space expert looks at the UFO controversy; UFOs and Outer Space Mysteries: A Sympathetic Skeptic's Report, by James E. Oberg. Virginia Beach, Va.:...

Test of 4th Amendment; Should 'tainted' evidence be in court?
Gift ideas -- arts, literature, book for children; Fine, challenging look at Kent; Rockwell Kent: An Anthology of His Work, edited by Fridolph Johns...
Reagan suggests Brazilian join a US space mission
Poland's WWII underground; Memoir of wartime intrigue kindles Polish hopes today; Courier From Warsaw, by Jan Nowak, with a foreword by Zbigniew Brz...
Reagan's new CIA: secrets slip out
Gift ideas -- arts, literature, books for children; Treasures of 'Forbidden City'; The Palace Museum: Peking. Text by Wan-go Weng, essay by Yang Bod...

Gift ideas -- arts, literature, books for children; Lange's luminous icons; Dorothea Lange: Photographs of a Lifetime, Millerton, N.Y.: Aperture. 18...

Surgeons implant an artificial heart

Gift ideas -- art, literature, books for children; Dickens's endearing masterpiece; The Illustrated Life and Adventures of Nicholas Nickleby, by Cha...
Gift ideas -- arts, literature, books for children; For fans of Milton Avery; Milton Avery, by Barbara Haskell. New York: Whitney Museum of Art/Harp...
Vonnegut's odd ode to kindness -- his best book in years; Deadeye Dick, by Kurt Vonnegut. New York: Delacorte Press/Seymour Lawrence. 240 pp. $14.95.
Bigger-than-life portrait of LBJ; Biographer Caro traces early career in first of three volumes; The Years of Lyndon Johnson -- The Path to Power, b...
Packwood stripped of GOP post
Secret operations can go awry, says former US ambassador
Gift ideas -- arts, literature, books for children; Glittering opulence in Russia; The Hermitage -- Its History and Collections, text by Boris Piotr...
Wanted: spare part for 13-story elevator
Europe's socialists try to reconcile theory with economic necessity
New claims for jobless aid take an upward turn
Rave reviews -- for Princess Anne?
Marlin Perkins, Abe Lincoln, and more. . .; An illuminated Psalms The Psalms of David, illuminated by James S. Freemantle. New York: William Morrow...
Design engineers list their own favorite cars
Machine age blues
Gift ideas -- art, literature, books for children; Three Bears dimension; Goldilocks and the Three Bears: A Fold-Out Book, illustrated by Martin Bay...
Gift ideas -- arts, literature, books for children; A look inside Russia's churches; The Orthodox Church in Russia, text by Archbishop Pitirim of Vo...
Reagan plan for MX wins a House committee vote
Marlin Perkins, Abe Lincoln, and more...; Close-up on TV journalism; Media Unbound, by Stephan Lesher. Boston: Houghton Mifflin Company. 285 pp. $13...
Ian Smith's passport seized by Zimbabwe
Kudos for American classics; Mississippi Writings, by Mark Twain. Edited by Guy Cardwell. Library of America (dist. by Viking Press.) 1,084 pp. $25....
Hart claims new support after Kennedy bows out
British fishing boat lands 4,500-ton prize
Blowing the whistle on bid rigging
Facing facts
Gift ideas -- arts, literature, books for children; Escher's world of transformations; M.C. Escher: His Life and Complete Graphic Work, edited by J....
A poet's contradictory life; Robert Lowell, by Ian Hamilton. New York: Random House. 527 pp. $19.95.
The 'push-pull' dilemma of immigration

Oil-furnace odor worth a call to manufacturer
Some hazards spotted on the fast track for managers
Kansas pioneer women tell their stories; Pioneer Women, by Joanna L. Stratton. Introduction by Arthur M. Schlesinger Jr. New York: Simon & Schuster....
Jaruzelski drops the curtain on Polish actors' union
Gift ideas -- art, literature, books for children; Stevenson anniversary editions; Treasure Island, by Robert Louis Stevenson. Illustrated by N. C....
Gift ideas -- arts, literature, books for children; American church architecture; American Churches, by Roger G. Kennedy. New York: Stewart, Tabori...
An '83 risk forecast for business abroad
FTC: don't exempt professionals