Skip to: Content
Skip to: Site Navigation
Skip to: Search


How to flee the Facebook frenzy

Want a short respite from Facebook? A clean break? Here's what to do.

(Page 2 of 2)



Your regular name and password will still work and you can sign in again at any time to restore the account – or delete it forever.

Skip to next paragraph

Hide from the hyper: Plenty of Facebook users have at least one "friend" who's a little too active: a college acquaintance who posts hourly pap or a distant cousin who thinks all of your updates deserve a response from her.

You could remove these people from your friends list. Facebook will not notify them of your severed ties. You will no longer show up on their friends list, however, which might make for an awkward conversation once they realize you're gone.

A cleaner option is to hide their status updates. When you roll the cursor over a message on Facebook, a little X appears in the top corner. Clicking on it gives you two options. First, you can "Hide" all messages from that person. You'll still be "friends" but their updates won't clutter up your home page. Or, you can "Mark as Spam," which removes that single message and alerts Facebook to keep an eye on that person. Again, Facebook will not notify the other person of either action.

What if you want to hide your status updates from certain friends? Next time you type in a public message, check out the lock icon just left of the "Share" button. This feature lets you direct your broadcasts, either by targeting specific people or avoiding others. Clicking through the pop-up menu, you can also save lists, such as "family," "college buddies," or "everybody but you-know-who."

Discover what Facebook knows: With continuing concern over its privacy standards, Facebook recently rolled out an easy way to learn everything that the social network has collected on you. Members can download every message, picture, profile item, friend list, and event – basically every meaningful action you've ever taken on Facebook.

This personal encyclopedia entry comes as a single, giant Zip file.

Critics have demanded such a feature for years, arguing that the company has made it too easy for advertisers to collect information on users while making it difficult for its own members to see what's available.

To download this data dump, click on the Account tab at the top of each Facebook page, then choose Account Settings. From there, look for "Download Your Information." (Facebook is distributing this feature piecemeal, so if the option isn't available, check back in a few days.)

Once you've asked for the download, Facebook will comb its site and alert you when the Zip file is ready. This process can take up to a few hours, depending on how prolific you've been online. Finally, the site will ask for your password again, to ensure someone else isn't intruding on your information.

Theoretically, the feature would also make it easy for unhappy users to ditch Facebook and move all their information over to a new social network.

Go nuclear: If these controls aren't enough, perhaps it's time to quit cold turkey.

Facebook makes it pretty easy to walk away forever. Click on "Help" in the bottom right corner of any Facebook page. Look for "How do I permanently delete my account?" which is the top frequently asked question. Near the bottom of the explanation lies a link to formally request deletion. Fill out the form, and you're free.

Permissions