Subscribe

Britain gets serious about distracted driving

Britain is taking steps to discourage texting while driving by boosting fines and potentially revoking licences.

  • close
    A women texting on a cell phone while driving on a Los Angeles freeway (Jul 21, 2009).
    ZUMA Press/Newscom/File
    View Caption
  • About video ads
    View Caption
of

The problem of texting and driving isn't limited to the U.S. – not by a long shot. Britain is taking steps to discourage the practice by boosting fines and potentially revoking licences.

Currently, British drivers face fines of £100 ($130) and three points on their licenses if they're caught using a mobile phone behind the wheel. As of next year, those penalties will double to £200 and six points. New drivers could be forced to re-take their exams.

On the second offense, drivers could go court and be ordered to pay £1000 ($1,300).  Depending on the circumstances, the driver might also have her license suspended for up to six months.

Interestingly, the law won't affect another part of the UK, Northern Ireland, which will keep its penalties set at a £60 fine and three points.

Why now?

It's estimated that as many as one-third of all UK motorists regularly use their phones while driving, and that number is on the increase. 

While that figure might seem substantial, it pales in comparison to stats from the US. Surveys published earlier this year show that up to 70 percent of Americans talk on mobile phones while driving, and 42 percent are happy to read texts (though only 32 percent say that they've responded to texts or emails while driving). 

Among U.S. teens, the figures are even more alarming: even though 95 percent of teens know that using apps while driving is dangerous, 68 percent admit that they do so.

Is that because some states have far looser laws to prohibit texting and driving?* Not enough research has been done to say.

Will the UK's new laws reduce mobile phone use by drivers even further? We'll let you know when the statistics come in.

* Arizona and Montana don't legislate the practice at all, and in Texas and Missouri, it's only applied in certain cases. In Florida, Iowa, Nebraska, Ohio, and South Dakota it's classed as a secondary offense, meaning that drivers can't be ticketed for doing it unless they're pulled over for a primary offense, like speeding or reckless driving.

This story originally appeared on The Car Connection.

The Christian Science Monitor has assembled a diverse group of the best auto bloggers out there. Our guest bloggers are not employed or directed by the Monitor and the views expressed are the bloggers' own, as is responsibility for the content of their blogs. To contact us about a blogger, click here. To add or view a comment on a guest blog, please go to the blogger's own site by clicking on the link in the blog description box above.

About these ads
Sponsored Content by LockerDome
 
 
Make a Difference
Inspired? Here are some ways to make a difference on this issue.
FREE Newsletters
Get the Monitor stories you care about delivered to your inbox.
 

We want to hear, did we miss an angle we should have covered? Should we come back to this topic? Or just give us a rating for this story. We want to hear from you.

Loading...

Loading...

Loading...

Save for later

Save
Cancel

Saved ( of items)

This item has been saved to read later from any device.
Access saved items through your user name at the top of the page.

View Saved Items

OK

Failed to save

You reached the limit of 20 saved items.
Please visit following link to manage you saved items.

View Saved Items

OK

Failed to save

You have already saved this item.

View Saved Items

OK