Skip to: Content
Skip to: Site Navigation
Skip to: Search


America's Top 50 charities in 2013 ranked by total income

Download a PDF version of this chart.

RANK NAME WEBSITE CATEGORY TOTAL INCOME IN MILLIONS (2012) PUBLIC SUPPORT IN MILLIONS (2012) PERCENTAGE OF TOTAL EXPENSES SPENT ON PROGRAMS† SALARY & BENEFITS OF HIGHEST-PAID OFFICIAL† CHARITYWATCH‡ GRADE WISE GIVING ALLIANCE ‡‡ CHARITY NAVIGATOR†
1 The Y ymca.net Social services $6,239.5 $827.2 87.3 $440,438 A MEETS STANDARDS ★★★★
2 Goodwill Industries International goodwill.org Social services 4,894.7 948.7 92.0‡‡ 725,286‡‡ A MEETS STANDARDS NO RATING
3 United Way unitedway.org Social services 4,260.3 3,926.3 90.0 763,394 NO RATING MEETS STANDARDS ★★★★
4 Catholic Charities USA catholiccharitiesusa.org Social services 4,227.5 677.2 79.6 219,929 NO RATING MEETS STANDARDS ★★★★
5 The Salvation Army salvationarmyusa.org Social services 3,353.2 1,885.1 82.9‡‡ 216,182* NO RATING MEETS STANDARDS NO RATING
6 American Red Cross redcross.org Social services 3,154.5 685.7 90.7 591,122 A– MEETS STANDARDS ★★★
7 Task Force for Global Health taskforce.org Health 1,666.8 1,656.4 100.0‡‡ 293,300 NO RATING MEETS STANDARDS NO RATING
8 Easter Seals easterseals.com Health 1,618.8 194.2 84.0 143,672 B– MEETS STANDARDS ★★★★
9 Boys & Girls Clubs of America bgca.org Youth 1,572.5 699.4 85.3 1,848,593 A– MEETS STANDARDS ★★★★
10 Feeding America feedingamerica.org Social services 1,554.2 1,510.6 100.0 408,958 C+ MEETS STANDARDS ★★★★
11 Habitat for Humanity International habitat.org Social services 1,492.3 674.0 83.8 269,233 B+ MEETS STANDARDS ★★★★
12 Boston Children’s Hospital childrenshospital.org Health 1,378.5 148.0 71.7** 444,568* A– NO RATING NO RATING
13 Smithsonian Institution si.edu Museums 1,315.2 199.3 72.1 517,318 NO RATING NO RATING ★★★★
14 Planned Parenthood Federation of America plannedparenthood.org Hospital/med center 1,150.4 261.1 72.3 444,468 A– MEETS STANDARDS ★★★★
15 Boy Scouts of America scouting.org Youth 1,063.0 358.2 89.0‡‡ 1,130,514‡‡ A MEETS STANDARDS NO RATING
16 Dana-Farber Cancer Institute dana-farber.org Health 1,021.3 255.1 85.0 905,018 NO RATING DOES NOT MEET ALL STANDARDS ★★★★
17 Volunteers of America voa.org Social services 1,011.5 128.9 91.0‡‡ 350,000‡‡ NO RATING MEETS STANDARDS NO RATING
18 World Vision worldvision.org Relief/development 1,009.7 826.9 85.6 379,861 B+ MEETS STANDARDS ★★★
19 The Nature Conservancy nature.org Environment 949.1 535.9 73.8 561,278 A– MEETS STANDARDS ★★
20 American Cancer Society cancer.org Health 916.2 888.6 71.2 628,374 C MEETS STANDARDS ★★
21 Food for the Poor foodforthepoor.org Relief/development 900.1 891.4 96.2 388,075 C MEETS STANDARDS ★★★
22 ALSAC/St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital stjude.org Hospital/med center 870.1 776.5 70.0 904,243 B MEETS STANDARDS ★★★
23 Girl Scouts of the USA girlscouts.org Youth 787.7 104.0 88.9 442,016 B+ MEETS STANDARDS ★★★★
24 Catholic Relief Services crs.org Relief/development 699.5 276.7 93.3 not compensated A+ MEETS STANDARDS ★★★
25 YWCA ywca.org Social services 694.1 171.2 43.2 199,189 F ‡‡‡ DOES NOT MEET ALL STANDARDS
26 Shriners Hospitals for Children shrinershospitalsforchildren.org Hospital/med center 636.7 202.4 84.1 362,359 A/F ‡‡‡ DOES NOT MEET ALL STANDARDS ★★★
27 American Heart Association heart.org Health 626.0 529.0 78.2 737,149 C– MEETS STANDARDS ★★★★
28 Feed the Children feedthechildren.org Relief/development 617.8 613.7 86.4 214,209 F MEETS STANDARDS ★★★
29 Compassion International compassion.com Relief/development 598.8 596.1 84.3 289,370 A MEETS STANDARDS ★★★★
30 Save the Children savethechildren.org Relief/development 576.5 347.1 91.7 425,324 A+ MEETS STANDARDS ★★★★
31 CARE care.org Relief/development 557.5 369.3 90.1 419,832 A– MEETS STANDARDS ★★★
32 Boys Town boystown.org Youth 553.5 218.2 81.5 338,684 B –/C ‡‡‡ MEETS STANDARDS ★★★★
33 Cru/Campus Crusade for Christ cru.org Religious 548.4 502.9 86.0‡‡ 167,636 NO RATING DOES NOT MEET ALL STANDARDS NO RATING
34 AmeriCares americares.org Relief/development 526.1 524.5 97.7 272,860 C+ MEETS STANDARDS ★★★
35 United States Fund for UNICEF unicefusa.org Relief/development 501.8 498.7 90.3 467,463 B+ MEETS STANDARDS ★★★★
36 PBS pbs.org Public broadcasting 434.4 198.9 100 (1)(2) 603,403* NO RATING NO RATING NO RATING
37 Metropolitan Museum of Art metmuseum.org Museums 418.7 139.6 90.0 1,496,732 NO RATING NO RATING ★★★★
38 New York Public Library nypl.org Libraries 395.0 77.6 87.1 1,307,770 NO RATING MEETS STANDARDS ★★★★
39 International Rescue Committee rescue.org Relief/development 386.5 129.8 92.3 395,612 A+ MEETS STANDARDS ★★★★
40 Institute of International Education iie.org Education 384.2 94.1 93.3 441,364 NO RATING NO RATING ★★★★
41 Samaritan’s Purse samaritanspurse.org Relief/development 376.1 358.6 87.7 421,198 B– DOES NOT MEET ALL STANDARDS ★★★★
42 Susan G. Komen for the Cure komen.org Health 342.4 301.7 82.1 684,717 NO RATING MEETS STANDARDS ★★★★
43 Cystic Fibrosis Foundation cff.org Health 341.3 134.1 81.0 477,065 A– MEETS STANDARDS ★★★
44 United States Olympic Committee teamusa.org Sports 338.4 54.9 76.2 742,367 C DOES NOT MEET ALL STANDARDS ★★★
45 Kingsway Charities kingswaycharities.org Relief/development 331.4 330.9 99.8 87,337 NO RATING NO RATING ★★
46 American Jewish Joint Distribution Committee jdc.org Relief/development 315.8 279.7 91.1 525,719 NO RATING MEETS STANDARDS ★★★★
47 Teach for America teachforamerica.org Education 306.8 214.6 83.4 364,062 NO RATING DOES NOT MEET ALL STANDARDS ★★★★
48 Direct Relief directrelief.org Relief/development 299.7 299.2 98.7 184,990 A– MEETS STANDARDS ★★★★
49 Pew Charitable Trust pewtrusts.org Public interest 298.6 283.1 93.8* 750,719(1) NO RATING NO RATING NO RATING
50 Good360 good360.org Relief/development 298.4 294.0 99.0 191,797 B MEETS STANDARDS ★★★
† CHARITY NAVIGATOR; ‡ CHARITYWATCH; ‡‡ A SERVICE OF THE COUNCIL OF BETTER BUSINESS BUREAUS; * FYE 2012 DATA ; ** PERCENTAGE CALCULATED BY PROGRAM EXPENSES DIVIDED BY TOTAL INCOME; ‡‡‡ GRADE REDUCED BECAUSE OF LARGE AMOUNTS OF UNUSED ASSETS (1) FROM 2012 FORM 990 (2) PBS HAD $47.5 MILLION IN EXPENSES OVER REVENUE.
Source: The NonProfit Times (except where noted); Research by Schuyler Velasco