Subscribe

America's Top 50 charities: How well do they rate?

RANK NAME WEBSITE CATEGORY TOTAL INCOME IN MILLIONS (2011) PUBLIC SUPPORT IN MILLIONS (2011) PERCENTAGE OF TOTAL EXPENSES SPENT ON PROGRAMS† SALARY & BENEFITS OF HIGHEST-PAID OFFICIAL† CHARITYWATCH‡ GRADE WISE GIVING ALLIANCE ‡‡ CHARITY NAVIGATOR†
1 YMCA of the USA ymca.net Social services $5986.1 $823.4 87.4 $441,438 A MEETS STANDARDS ★★★★
2 Goodwill Industries International goodwill.org Social services 4,437.0 778.0 89.0‡‡ $508,571 A MEETS STANDARDS NO RATING
3 Catholic Charities USA catholiccharities.usa.org Social services 4,422.8 679.2 79.6 $265,356 NO RATING MEETS STANDARDS ★★★★
4 United Way unitedway.org Social services 4,139.9 3,903.2 90.6 $763,394 NO RATING NO RATING ★★★★
5 American Red Cross redcross.org Social services 3,453.0 945.9 92.2 $568,594 A MEETS STANDARDS ★★★
6 The Salvation Army salvationarmyusa.org Social services 3,203.8 1,697.6 84.0 $216,182 A / A– MEETS STANDARDS NO RATING
7 Habitat for Humanity International habitat.org Social services 1,490.6 619.3 83.7 $315,130 B+ MEETS STANDARDS ★★★
8 Boys & Girls Clubs of America bgca.org Youth 1,458.3 658.3 85.1 $1,814,593 A+ MEETS STANDARDS ★★★
9 Easter Seals easterseals.com Health 1,402.5 161.6 80.6 $838,901 B– MEETS STANDARDS ★★
10 Smithsonian Institution si.edu Museums 1,241.0 161.4 73.7 $517,318 NO RATING NO RATING ★★★★
11 Feeding America feedingamerica.org Social services 1,185.0 1,144.3 97.2 $524,052 B MEETS STANDARDS ★★★★
12 Task Force for Global Health taskforce.org Health 1,163.4 1,147.8 100.0‡‡ $262,500 NO RATING MEETS STANDARDS NO RATING
13 Planned Parenthood Federation of America plannedparenthood.org Health 1,154.0 279.6 72.8 $382,688 A– MEETS STANDARDS ★★★★
14 World Vision worldvision.org Relief/development 1,055.8 848.2 88.3 $405,975 B+ MEETS STANDARDS ★★★★
15 Dana-Farber Cancer Institute dana-farber.org Hospital/med center 1,002.5 275.8 85.2 $905,018 NO RATING NO RATING ★★★★
16 The Nature Conservancy nature.org Environment 997.0 504.0 78.8 $493,332 A– MEETS STANDARDS ★★★
17 Shriners Hospitals for Children shrinershospitalsforchildren.org Hospital/med center 963.6 195.7 85.0 $428,771 A/F ‡‡‡ NO RATING ★★★
18 American Cancer Society cancer.org Health 953.6 888.3 70.0 $2,081,246 C MEETS STANDARDS ★★
19 Food for the Poor foodforthepoor.org Relief/development 938.2 930.2 96.8 $388,979 B– MEETS STANDARDS ★★★
20 Boy Scouts of America scouting.org Youth 904.7 394.0 89.0‡‡ $815,014 A MEETS STANDARDS NO RATING
21 Catholic Relief Services crs.org Relief/development 821.5 319.4 94.4 $325,000 A+ MEETS STANDARDS ★★★★
22 ALSAC/St. Jude’s Children’s Research Hospital stjude.org Hospital/med center 814.3 698.4 70.3 $477,920 B+ MEETS STANDARDS ★★★
23 Children’s Hospital Los Angeles chla.org Hospital/med center 812.8 97.7 85.0** $822,616* NO RATING NO RATING NO RATING
24 Girl Scouts of the USA girlscouts.org Youth 735.2 102.3 88.9 $442,016 C+ MEETS STANDARDS ★★★
25 YWCA ywca.org Social services 699.9 397.7 36.8 $233,722 D/F ‡‡‡ NO RATING ★★
26 AmeriCares americares.org Relief/development 663.8 662.9 98.4 $266,021 B– MEETS STANDARDS ★★★
27 American Heart Association heart.org Health 657.2 510.3 53.3 $602,529 C+ MEETS STANDARDS ★★
28 Save the Children savethechildren.org Relief/development 600.5 349.3 90.7 $425,324 A+ MEETS STANDARDS ★★★★
29 CARE care.org Relief/development 582.0 361.6 89.5 $419,284 A+ MEETS STANDARDS ★★★
30 Compassion International compassion.com Relief/development 548.9 547.4 83.2 $273,125 A MEETS STANDARDS ★★★★
31 Campus Crusade for Christ cru.org Religious 517.1 474.5 86.0 (2) $64,020 NO RATING REVIEW IN PROGRESS NO RATING
32 Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center fhcrc.org Hospital/med center 470.6 69.1 90.6** none reported NO RATING NO RATING NO RATING
33 Metropolitan Museum of Art metmuseum.org Museums 470.0 164.3 86.9 $988,523 NO RATING NO RATING ★★★
34 United States Fund for UNICEF unicefusa.org Relief/development 455.0 451.0 90.5 $467,463 B+ MEETS STANDARDS ★★★
35 Feed the Children feedthechildren.org Relief/development 436.5 430.1 92.9 $214,209 F REVIEW IN PROGRESS ★★★★
36 Direct Relief International directrelief.org Relief/development 404.9 404.7 98.8 $341,347 A- MEETS STANDARDS ★★★★
37 PBS pbs.org Relief/development 404.3 172.8 100 (3)** $603,403 NO RATING NO RATING NO RATING
38 International Rescue Committee rescue.org Relief/development 397.9 141.4 92.3 $395,612 A+ MEETS STANDARDS ★★★★
39 Art Institute of Chicago artic.edu Education 397.1 71.9 91.4 $1,026,395 NO RATING NO RATING ★★★★
40 Samaritan’s Purse samaritanspurse.org Relief/development 388.2 375.7 88.3 $421,198 C+ DOES NOT MEET ALL STANDARDS ★★★★
41 Institute of International Education iie.org Education 366.7 366.7 93.4 $490,547 NO RATING NO RATING ★★★★
42 Metropolitan Opera Association metoperafamily.org Cultural 365.9 194.1 90.5 $1,300,916 NO RATING NO RATING NO RATING
43 Susan G. Komen for the Cure ww5.komen.org Health 357.8 285.7 75.0 $471,471 B MEETS STANDARDS ★★★
44 Boys Town boystown.org Youth 325.2 141.9 88.7 $316,272 B –/C ‡‡‡ MEETS STANDARDS ★★★★
45 New York Presbyterian Fund (1) nyp.org Health 312.8 96.5 50.5** $4,304,436 NO RATING NO RATING NO RATING
46 Cystic Fibrosis Foundation cff.org Health 312.0 126.3 79.3 $477,065 A– MEETS STANDARDS ★★★
47 Good360 good360.org Relief/development 310.5 305.8 99.0 $708,722 B MEETS STANDARDS ★★★
48 Catholic Medical Mission Board cmmb.org Relief/development 305.1 294.3 97.0 $282,018 B MEETS STANDARDS ★★★★
49 Pew Charitable Trust pewtrusts.org Public interest 300.1 283.4 92.4** $708,722 NO RATING NO RATING NO RATING
50 Christian Broadcasting Network cbn.com Religious broadcasting 285.3 177.6 85.4 $404,394 NO RATING NO RATING ★★★★
† CHARITY NAVIGATOR; ‡ CHARITY WATCH (AIP); ‡‡ A SERVICE OF THE COUNCIL OF BETTER BUSINESS BUREAUS; * FOUND ON 990 TAX FORM; ** PERCENTAGE CALCULATED BY PROGRAM EXPENSES DIVIDED BY TOTAL INCOME; ‡‡‡ GRADE REDUCED BECAUSE OF LARGE AMOUNTS OF UNUSED ASSETS (1) ALL DATA FROM FISCAL YEAR 2010 (2) DATA COMES FROM CAMPUS CRUSADE FOR CHRIST’S INTERNAL FINANCIAL REPORT (3) PBS HAD $47.5 MILLION IN EXPENSES OVER REVENUE
Source: The NonProfit Times (except where noted); Research by Schuyler Velasco
Save for later

Save
Cancel

Saved ( of items)

This item has been saved to read later from any device.
Access saved items through your user name at the top of the page.

View Saved Items

OK

Failed to save

You reached the limit of 20 saved items.
Please visit following link to manage you saved items.

View Saved Items

OK

Failed to save

You have already saved this item.

View Saved Items

OK