Skip to: Content
Skip to: Site Navigation
Skip to: Search


Diana Gabaldon's 'Outlander' series is coming to television

Starz recently gave a series order to an adaptation of 'Outlander,' which will reportedly begin filming this October.

By Staff Writer / June 3, 2013

'Outlander,' the first book in writer Diana Gabaldon's series, was first released in 1991.

Enlarge

Fans of Claire and Jamie, rejoice: author Diana Gabaldon’s “Outlander” series is coming to television.

Skip to next paragraph

Recent posts

Starz, which also recently announced that it’s releasing a miniseries of Philippa Gregory’s Cousins’ War trilogy titled “The White Queen,” is giving a series order to an adaptation of Gabaldon’s books following protagonist Claire Randall, which currently comprise seven novels. According to Deadline, Gabaldon mentioned the news while at Book Expo America in New York City, which is being held from May 28 to June 1. Starz has reportedly ordered 16 episodes.

The series will be coming from “Battlestar Galactica” writer and developer Ron Moore, who has already hired several writers for the show, and “Outlander” will begin filming in Scotland this fall.

Gabaldon’s septology follows Claire Randall, a married former nurse living in 1945 who is transported back to Scotland circa 1743 after she touches part of a stone circle in the Scottish Highlands. While there, she meets warrior Jamie Fraser and is torn between him and her husband back home. Gabaldon will release the eighth book in the series later this year.

Besides its planned “White Queen” adaptation, Starz recently concluded its original series “Spartacus” and was also behind a take on the King Arthur legend, titled “Camelot,” and Kelsey Grammer’s series “Boss.” The channel is currently broadcasting the show “Da Vinci’s Demons,” which imagines the early life of the legendary figure, and “Magic City,” which follows the owner of a Miami hotel shortly after the Cuban Revolution.

Permissions

  • Weekly review of global news and ideas
  • Balanced, insightful and trustworthy
  • Subscribe in print or digital

Special Offer

 

What are you reading?

Let me know about a good book you've read recently, or about the book that's currently on your bedside table. Why did you pick it up? Are you enjoying it?

Doing Good

 

What happens when ordinary people decide to pay it forward? Extraordinary change...

Danny Bent poses at the starting line of the Boston Marathon in Hopkinton, Mass.

After the Boston Marathon bombings, Danny Bent took on a cross-country challenge

The athlete-adventurer co-founded a relay run called One Run for Boston that started in Los Angeles and ended at the marathon finish line to raise funds for victims.

 
 
Become a fan! Follow us! Google+ YouTube See our feeds!