Diana Gabaldon's 'Outlander' series is coming to television

Starz recently gave a series order to an adaptation of 'Outlander,' which will reportedly begin filming this October.

By , Staff Writer

  • close
    'Outlander,' the first book in writer Diana Gabaldon's series, was first released in 1991.
    View Caption

Fans of Claire and Jamie, rejoice: author Diana Gabaldon’s “Outlander” series is coming to television.

Starz, which also recently announced that it’s releasing a miniseries of Philippa Gregory’s Cousins’ War trilogy titled “The White Queen,” is giving a series order to an adaptation of Gabaldon’s books following protagonist Claire Randall, which currently comprise seven novels. According to Deadline, Gabaldon mentioned the news while at Book Expo America in New York City, which is being held from May 28 to June 1. Starz has reportedly ordered 16 episodes.

The series will be coming from “Battlestar Galactica” writer and developer Ron Moore, who has already hired several writers for the show, and “Outlander” will begin filming in Scotland this fall.

Recommended: Famous opening lines: Take our literature quiz

Gabaldon’s septology follows Claire Randall, a married former nurse living in 1945 who is transported back to Scotland circa 1743 after she touches part of a stone circle in the Scottish Highlands. While there, she meets warrior Jamie Fraser and is torn between him and her husband back home. Gabaldon will release the eighth book in the series later this year.

Besides its planned “White Queen” adaptation, Starz recently concluded its original series “Spartacus” and was also behind a take on the King Arthur legend, titled “Camelot,” and Kelsey Grammer’s series “Boss.” The channel is currently broadcasting the show “Da Vinci’s Demons,” which imagines the early life of the legendary figure, and “Magic City,” which follows the owner of a Miami hotel shortly after the Cuban Revolution.

Share this story:
 
 
Make a Difference
Inspired? Here are some ways to make a difference on this issue.
Follow Stories Like This
Get the Monitor stories you care about delivered to your inbox.
 

We want to hear, did we miss an angle we should have covered? Should we come back to this topic? Or just give us a rating for this story. We want to hear from you.

Loading...

Loading...

Loading...