Latest awards

2014 National Arts & Entertainment Journalism Awards Contest by the Los 
Angeles Press Club
Recipients: Peter Rainer for "Best Critic, online"

2013 Religion Newswriters Association Award for Best Magazine Coverage
Recipient: Christa Case Bryant

2013 Religion Communicators Council, Wilbur Award
Recipient: G. Jeffrey MacDonald for "Healing Newtown"

2012 Education Writers Association, First Place
Recipient: Ben Arnoldy for "Many Children Left Behind"

2012 Education Writers Association, Special Citation
Recipient: G. Jeffrey MacDonald for "No Child Left Alone"

2012 Hillman Foundation, Sidney Award
Recipient: Jina Moore for "Below the Line: America's Poor"

2011 United Nations Correspondents Association, Elizabeth Neuffer 
Memorial Prize, Gold Medal
Recipient: Jina Moore for "Peacebuilders"

2011 Religion Communicators Council, Wilbur Award
Recipient: G. Jeffrey MacDonald for "Raised in Faith"

2007 Robert F. Kennedy Journalism Award for Editorial Cartoons
 Recipient: Clay Bennett

2007 John Fischetti Editorial Cartoon Competition
 honorable mention: Clay Bennett

2007 United Nations Correspondents Association Ranan Lurie Political Cartoon Award
 Citation of Excellence: Clay Bennett

2005 The Overseas Press Club Thomas Nast Award (for best cartoons on foreign affairs)
 Recipient: Clay Bennett

2005 John Fischetti Editorial Cartoon Competition
 Winner: Clay Bennett

2004 National Population Cartoon Contest
 Grand prize: Clay Bennett

2004 National Headliner Award
 News Series (circulation up to 75,000), 2nd Place
 Recipients: Liz Marlantes, Abraham McLaughlin, "Vox Americana"

2004 National Headliner Award
 Education Writing, 2nd Place
 Recipient: Mark Clayton

2004 National Society of Newspaper Columnists
 Best Online Column, 2nd Place
 Recipient: Tom Regan, "My American Life" blog

2004 Military Reporters and Editors Award
 Print Overseas Reporting (circulation less than 100,000), Distinguished Reporting
 Recipient: Ann Scott Tyson

2004 American Academy of Religion
 Best In-Depth Reporting on Religion for Newspapers (circulation under 100,000), 3rd Place
 Recipient: Jane Lampman

2004 American Association of Sunday and Feature Editors
 Arts & Entertainment Commentary, 2nd Place
 Recipient: Ron Charles

2004 Eliav-Sartawi Award for Middle Eastern Journalism
 Western Press
 Recipient: Amanda Paulson

2004 National Headliner Award for Best Editorial Cartoons
 Recipient: Clay Bennett


 Pulitzer Prize in Journalism 2002
 Editorial Cartooning
 Recipient: Clay Bennett

 Pulitzer Prize in Journalism 1996
 International Reporting
 Recipient: David Rohde

Pulitzer Prize in Journalism 1978
 Special Citation: 57 years of excellence in journalism
 Recipient: Richard Lee Strout

Pulitzer Prize in Journalism 1969 
National Reporting 
Recipient: Robert Cahn

Pulitzer Prize in Journalism 1968
National Reporting
Recipient: Howard James

Pulitzer Prize in Journalism 1967
International Reporting
Recipient: R. John Hughes

Pulitzer Prize in Journalism 1950
Distinguished Reporting of International Affairs
Recipient: Edmund Stevens

Save for later


Saved ( of items)

This item has been saved to read later from any device.
Access saved items through your user name at the top of the page.

View Saved Items


Failed to save

You reached the limit of 20 saved items.
Please visit following link to manage you saved items.

View Saved Items


Failed to save

You have already saved this item.

View Saved Items