Gift ideas -- arts, literature, books for children; For fans of Milton Avery; Milton Avery, by Barbara Haskell. New York: Whitney Museum of Art/Harper & Row. 224 pp. $29.95.

No reproductions can fully convey the richness or the nuances of Milton Avery's color - but a number of the color illustrations in this book come very close. And that alone makes it more than worth its price.

But there's more, including an excellent text that is scholarly, affectionate , and clearly intended to be understood by all. There also are many black-and-white illustrations that detail Avery's life and art from his early days as a struggling student and artist to his final years as one of the elder statesmen of American art. I recommend this book highly - both to those who saw Avery's recent retrospective and to those who didn't.

About these ads
Sponsored Content by LockerDome

We want to hear, did we miss an angle we should have covered? Should we come back to this topic? Or just give us a rating for this story. We want to hear from you.

Loading...

Loading...

Loading...

Save for later

Save
Cancel

Saved ( of items)

This item has been saved to read later from any device.
Access saved items through your user name at the top of the page.

View Saved Items

OK

Failed to save

You reached the limit of 20 saved items.
Please visit following link to manage you saved items.

View Saved Items

OK

Failed to save

You have already saved this item.

View Saved Items

OK