Skip to: Content
Skip to: Site Navigation
Skip to: Search

Yugoslav ruling committee names new president

By With Analysis from Monitor Correspondents around the world, Edited by Debra K. Piot / May 16, 1980


Yugoslavia's state presidium, an eight-man ruling committee that succeeded President Josip Broz Tito, named Cvijetin Mijatovic Thursday as its next president for a regular one- year term. The presidium, following the Constitution exactly as it was set up by Mr. tito, is made up of one representative each from Yugoslavia's six constituent republics and two autonomous provinces. Until now, only the office of vice-president was rotated and selected, as Mr. tito was permanent president of the presidium as well as President of the republic for life.

Skip to next paragraph